IESF searches for strongest Dota 2 nations in Europe

The European Qualifiers for the 2020 World Championship by the International Esports Federation (IESF) are right ahead. 16 teams from all over Europe will compete November 21 – 22 with the top three nations at the end of the battle advancing to the offline Grand Finals of the IESF World Championship, which take place in Eilat, Israel.

The tournament is split into three stages. Each of the participating teams consists of five players from the same nation. First, the squads had to compete against other contestants in national qualifiers. The strongest team earned a slot in the regional qualifiers. The best line-ups from the regional qualifiers then will advance to the last challenge, the Grand Finals.

Qualifiers kick off

Sweden, Slovakia, or the Czech Republic: where are the
strongest European Dota players from? The European Qualifiers are the way to
answer this question. 16 teams from across Europe will fight for three slots in
the Grand Finals November 21 – 22.

The participants are split into four different groups.
After the group stage, the teams play against each other in playoffs to
determine the three strongest nations.

Group A

  • Israel
  • Montenegro
  • Serbia
  • Austria

Group B

  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Netherlands
  • Finland
  • Slovakia

Group C

  • Czech Republic
  • Belgium
  • Luxembourg
  • Norway

Group D

  • Macedonia
  • Portugal
  • Turkey
  • Sweden

If you want to watch the playoff matches on November 22, you can tune in to the official Twitch channel of the IESF. Gareth Bateson and Dominik “Lacoste” Stipić are going to commentate the games. For more information about the qualifiers, head over to the official homepage of the IESF. (

Sweden is the reigning world champion

The 2020 World Championship is the third worldwide
tournament organised by the IESF. In 2014, Newbee were able to proclaim China
as strongest nation in the world, defeating the runner-up Romania 3-0 in the
final series. After a break of four years, the IESF returned to Dota 2 in 2019
where Sweden was able to claim the victory.

It will be interesting to see if Sweden can defend
their title as reigning world champions. The Czech Republic squad could
arguably be their biggest challenge in the European Qualifiers. All members
from Hippomaniacs compete for their home-country, making an experienced and
well attuned team.

Once the first obstacle is successfully overcome by
prevailing over the European teams, the winners are thrown into the pool of
even more skilled players in the final stage. The other regional qualifiers are
just as packed with talented squads, as members of top teams such as Gambit,
Thunder Predator and T1 are all waiting for their shot.

About the IESF

The International Esports Federation was founded in
2008, with their headquarters based in Busan, South Korea. Their main goal is
to further esports worldwide and get it recognised as a legitimate sport. To
achieve this mission, the IESF joins forces with esports federations and
organisations worldwide. The IESF currently has 88 nations from all around the
globe as official members.

One of the showcase tournaments of the IESF is their
World Championship. The 2020 edition is the 12th iteration with championships
in eFootball PES 2021, Tekken 7 and Dota 2.

Source: Read Full Article