Deleting Facebook means deleting your Oculus Quest 2 games

The Oculus Quest 2’s mandatory Facebook account link is further angering users and the issue may not be resolved until 2023.

Despite it possibly being the best VR headset available at the moment, the Oculus Quest 2 is frustrating some owners due to them requiring a Facebook account to use it.

Some have found their newly made Facebook accounts banned, resulting in bricking their Oculus headsets, and it has now been discovered that deleting a Facebook account deletes all your Oculus information

By ‘everything,’ that means any games or apps bought, any progress made, any achievements earned, and even any store credits left over.

UploadVR contacted Facebook and was told that this doesn’t apply to anyone who owns the original Oculus Quest or the Oculus Rift/Rift S headset.

It added that it will ‘update existing users who choose not to log in with a Facebook account as we get closer to ending support for Oculus accounts in 2023.’

At the time of writing, it’s still unclear exactly how Oculus accounts will work once support ends.

Ideally, come 2023, it won’t be mandatory to set up a Facebook account to use the Oculus Quest 2, but that’s only hypothetical and still three years away.

For now though not only do you not dare delete your Facebook account but there’s still the looming danger that if you’re banned at any time – even if it’s by mistake – you’ll suddenly not be able to use the headset at all.

The Oculus Quest 2 is available for purchase now.

https://youtube.com/watch?v=ATVGl9wOJsM%3Fversion%3D3%26rel%3D1%26fs%3D1%26autohide%3D2%26showsearch%3D0%26showinfo%3D1%26iv_load_policy%3D1%26wmode%3Dtransparent

Email [email protected], leave a comment below, and follow us on Twitter.

Follow Metro Gaming on Twitter and email us at [email protected]

Source: Read Full Article